I had the most wonderful surprise today. Mid-afternoon the phone rings, I
have had a long and less then pleasant few days, so I really didn’t even
want to answer the it. The voice on the other end said an enthusiastic
“Hello, I’m Marie S. from Parksville, BC. I think I’ve purchased
batts from you before, I’m in Wolfville.”

At this point I was very confused, I’ve never sold anything to anyone, and
who is this woman? Slowly it started to make sense, I had answered Marie’s
email about travelling to the Maritimes, but this was over a month ago, so
had forgotten. As for the wool batts, I’ve already been confused for Liz
Miller once this week.(hi Jude ๐Ÿ˜‰

So Marie and her husband Rick came for a visit. I invited my crazy Danish
spinning/weaving friend Pia over to meet them, and we had a wonderful time.
We talked about all things fibery, much to Rick’s pleasure ๐Ÿ™‚ Luckily we
were able to charm him, as we have a fair trade coffee roaster/cafe not five
minutes from my house.

After passionate discussions about pricing handwoven and handspun products
and a detailed explanation about why additions to our stash of fibre is so
important, Marie and Rick hit the road.

I am so happy the CANWEAVE list exists, if anyone is ever in Nova Scotia, please
look me up, every person I’ve met because of this list is incredible. There
is always a bed ready and waiting for weary travelling spinners and weavers.

Julie Rosvall
Wolfville, NS

Leave a Reply

