I’ve gotten a lot of helpful information from recent advocacy discussions on a
couple of the lists, but need a bit more of a kick start. Even if you can
only answer one question, it would be a great help.

I am working on an assignment for a course I’m taking, focusing on the
process of needs assessment. I’ve chosen a fibre related topic, exploring
the adaptation of the traditional artist’s portfolio.

The idea is to eventually develop a portfolio development process that
encompasses both the aesthetic/design aspects of the artist’s portfolio and
the exploration of transferable skills that are explored in a
personal/professional portfolio that is used in career development. If
anyone knows of any programs that are already in place, please let me know,
I’d love to take a look at what others are doing.

I won’t get into the details of the assignment, but I’m wondering if anyone
out there could answer a couple of questions for me. I work much better
with many ideas floating around the room, so sitting here for the past few
hours trying to come up with the questions I need has been useless.

So here it is,

-Name three barriers fibre artisans face when marketing their work.

-Do you have a portfolio?

-If yes, does it focus on strictly your finished products?

-Is the design process shown?

-Where is portfolio development for artist’s taught?

-Who do you show your portfolio to? Why?

-For those who have had formal arts education, how much is taught about
marketing?
career options?
resume building?
entrepreneurship?

-Did you feel like the topics covered related to real world situation? Why
or why not?

-What do you think is missing from your current portfolio? How would it
have made it better?

-What is the best part of your portfolio? How has it been significant?

Thanks to anyone who is able to answer even just one of these questions, I’m
in need of some ideas generation, and this should get me rolling.

Julie Rosvall
Wolfville, NS

Leave a Reply

