Just thought I’d give my own horn a bit of a toot. I applied on behalf of
the Potluck Spinners and Weavers for the FibreHearts award, given by
Handwoven Magazine to a guild who is promoting the fibre arts. We didn’t
get the big prize of $500 US, but we are getting an honourary mention, check
out the message below, I must say I’m quite proud.

On a more personal note, I’ve been working on grant/scholarship applications
for some months now, and have gotten word back on a couple. The first was
for the Aliant New Media award, which was a pretty hefty one. I didn’t get
that one, some of you may remember the winner from last year, who was
covered extensively on CBC, it was a web site called “A is for Apple”. It
was quite abstract. This year the grant went to a gallery/cafe in Halifax
who is doing a cooperative art/new media project. This was announced at the
East Coast Music Awards a few weeks back, just a little out of my league I’m
afraid 🙂

Next up was the Ontario Handweavers and Spinners. I applied for funding to
attend a week long weaving program at the Gaelic College in Cape Breton, NS.
I GOT IT!!!! I just got word a few days ago, I’m so excited.

Julie Rosvall
Wolfville, NS

—–Original Message—–
From: Liz Gipson [mailto:lizg@…]
Sent: Friday, April 11, 2003 6:16 PM
To: Peter & Julie Rosvall
Subject: FiberHearts

Dear Julie,
We were absolutely delighted with the application you submitted on behalf of
the Potluck Spinners and Weavers Society. Everyone here at Handwoven
congratulates your new formed guild on its enthusiasm for the traditional
crafts and your outreach efforts. I regret to inform you that your guild
was not selected for this year’s FiberHearts award. We were so wowed,
however, by your efforts that we would like to send you a few books and
award your guild an Honorary Mention along with this year’s recipients in
the September/October issue of Handwoven. We heartily encourage the guild
to apply for the award next year and let us know how your plans for the year
have progressed.
Your gift and a certificate will be mailed in the next couple of weeks.
Please feel free to contact me with any questions.
Best Wishes,
Liz
Liz Gipson
Managing Editor
Spin-Off and Handwoven Magazine
Interweave Press http://www.Interweave.com
tel 970-613-4629 fax 970-669-6117
LizG@…

Leave a Reply

