April 18, 2007

Friends,

Four years ago Brenda Gilmour and I, became partners. We created
Gaspereau Valley Fibres together to become a gathering space for so many
knitters, spinners and weavers. One young man, a free form crocheter,
calls Gaspereau Valley Fibres his Graceland. We’ve had many requests
for a bed in the corner so folks wouldn’t have to leave. Quite a few
have insisted they didn’t even need a bed; they would just cuddle down
in the tub full of fibre.

Our guest book tells the tale: weavers from Australia, spinners from
California, felters from Vancouver, rughookers from around Nova Scotia,
and knitters from every corner of the globe. People come to find yarn,
help, camaraderie and most importantly, inspiration.

I have spent all but a handful of my waking hours at Gaspereau Valley
Fibres over the past four years. During that time, I have evolved from
a sometimes weaver and obsessed spindler into a constant knitter. I
have met some of the most incredibly talented fibre artists that the
world has to offer. I have had the opportunity to take a passion for
textiles and colour and live it every day. In the partnership, we
created a space for others to explore that same love of yarn and fibre.

I am writing today to tell you that I have retired from Gaspereau Valley
Fibres. The business is thriving, new people find it every day, and the
‘word’ has spread in ever increasing circles. This success has created
a stirring within me to take the time to assemble all of these new
experiences and recreate – for me personally, it was time for change.

I am preparing to immerse myself in the local spinning, weaving and
knitting guilds. I will be visiting fibre events throughout the
Maritimes and New England. I will be working on my knitting patterns
and getting back to my spinning and weaving. As many have requested
over the past four years, I will try to make the time to write about all
these things as I find my new place in the fibre community. (to receive
those email ramblings, drop me a line)

I’m excited about the future. I hope to work more closely with my
husband Peter at Formed Stone Designs Inc., our precast concrete
business, which has been growing by leaps and bounds.

I trust and know instinctively that Gaspereau Valley Fibres will
continue on as an incredible gathering place for knitters, spinners,
weavers, felters and rughookers. I am blessed to have been a part of
its beginning.

This is not good-bye. We’ll meet again.

Julie Rosvall
Wolfville, NS (where the April showers are making quick work of all that
snow)

P.O.Box 2324
Wolfville, NS
B4P 2N5

rosvall@…

 

Leave a Reply

