Spatial Planning

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My goal in the last two years was to visit as many printmaking shops as I could, in the hopes that it would prepare me for the day I started setting up my own space. I am still 8-10 months away from my permanent studio space, but today I finished unpacking and arranging my temporary space in our garage.  I think in a way it will be better to have this time working downstairs before the construction begins on my upstairs space.  I expect I will learn that I prefer my work surfaces to the left of this and to the right of that.  I will realize that the bench height would be that much better if it was a little higher or a little lower.  The importance of a shelf to hold supplies over the bench will come to light, and the need for electrical outlets in just the right spot will be much easier to accommodate prior to the insulation and boards being installed.

Thank you to the community of printmakers, studios and colleges who have invited me into their printmaking shops to learn and explore.  I’ve loved seeing the different ways in which artists work.  There is Bob Morouney of Hidden House Press where everything is in its place and Bob Hainstock the Printmaker whose workspace is much more organic.  The precision and orderliness of the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University and the printshop at Sunbury Shores were something to strive for.  The sense of community at Liz Sheppard’s studio in Boston, MA and the Y’Arc printshop in Yarmouth, NS will keep me coming back.  When visiting Rabbittown Press in Fredericton, NB I was reminded that bigger isn’t always better.  I look forward to expanding on my brief visits to the printmakers studio at the Mahone Bay Centre on the south shore of NS and the Atelier Imago in Moncton, NB.  Next time I’m in Fredericton, NB I will take the time to visit Chris Harding at the Charlotte Street Arts Centre, and drop in on the folks at the New Brunswick College of Craft & Design.  Most recently I had the pleasure of visiting St.Michael’s Printshop in St. John’s, NL, I have dreams of spending time in that space glancing out the window at Signal Hill.

I will continue to seek out studios and workshops to visit in Nova Scotia and wherever I travel.  That being said, I believe that having a space of my own will have an impact on how my work develops, both positive and negative I’m sure.  Can’t wait to find out.

Julie Rosvall
Wolfville, NS
(where I am probably the only person who can boast having a 1952 Series I Land Rover in their printmaking studio, even if it is just my temporary home)
 
 
Leave a Reply

